Hotel Orion Venezia

. Read details, view map, photos and book online

USD U.S. dollar

English


Choose your language

Reviews Recommended by 100 guests out of 104

Overall Hotel rating

  • Property facilities 4.3
    • Aspect and property quality 4.1
    • Room cleanliness 4.3
    • Room comfort 3.9
    • Hotel location (city centre or good connections to) 4.8
  • Service offered 4.1
    • Quality of the service and treatment 4.2
    • Professionalism of employees 4.2
    • Average satisfaction for the service received 4.2
    • Quality of breakfast 3.8
  • Balance between web presentation and reality 3.8
    • Property pictures 3.5
    • Room pictures 3.5
    • Available services 3.7
    • Distance from the centre and the main tourist attractions 4.5

Rating by type of Guests

  • Single traveller (6) 4.6
  • Couple (81) 4.1
  • Couple with children (10) 4
  • Business traveller (0) -
  • Group (7) 4.3
  • Legend
  • 1pt: bad
  • 2pt: average
  • 3pt: above average
  • 4pt: good
  • 5pt: excellent

Guest reviews with comments

  • 17 April 2016
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    Parfait, nous y reviendrons

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 19 October 2015
    3 / 5 Above average

    Hotel location just 5 mins from San Marco Square. Plenty of restaurants in the area. Room really, really small. Asked for extra pillows and was handed in the hall two pillows and two pillow cases...they couldn't be bothered to put them on or bring them to the room. I asked to take coffee to room in the morning and was told I could not leave the breakfast room with the cup...really???? My room was NEXT to the breakfast room! I felt as if they thought I would steal the white, generic hotel coffee cup! Breakfast was next to nothing. Skipped it and went across the street and got a coffee to go and some real food. Thin man at desk was very helpful and knowledgeable.

    Anonymous (United States)Couple
  • 4 October 2014
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Michael Maietta (United States)Couple
  • 3 May 2014
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    Lovely little hotel. Enjoyed the staff who were very friendly and helpful. Especially loved the chocolate croissant and caffe latte in the morning! Internet was spotty on the fourth floor till the last night, but they were working on it.

    Craig Mathews (United States)Couple
  • 5 December 2013
    3.7 / 5 Good

    Excellent location just off of St Marks Square - the hotel is reasonably priced - the rooms are nicely furnished with TV - and cleaned each day and new towels each time. Not luxury, but comfortable. No tea making facility in room/mini bar limited. Breakfast is continental - croissants, bread - cheese, ham, egg, jams, cereal/fruit/yoghurt. No bar or lounge to sit in - just your room. Staff on reception are very helpful, and bags can be left if you have a late departure. All in all, a good value, clean and comfortable place to stay and well located.

    Tina Harrington (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 26 November 2013
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Très contents de l'hotel orion
    nous le conseillerons à nos amis

    Marie Marcel Flachaire de Roustan (France)Couple
  • 15 November 2013
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Emmanuelle warzée (Belgium)Couple
  • 11 November 2013
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (Switzerland)Single traveller
  • 11 November 2013
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    Hôtel bien situé à 50 m de la Place St-Marco. Le professionnalisme et la gentillesse du personnel.

    Anonymous (France)Single traveller
  • 1 November 2013
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Mylc73 (France)Couple
  • 22 October 2013
    2.7 / 5 Above average

    1. They refused my AMEX card. We both know why (you don't want to pay the service charge)and that is unacceptable. Be honest; say so up front. 2. There is no internet access in our room which was not in the hotel itself. For 195 euros/ night?? Very, very bad. 3. The people at the front desk and the people who served breakfast were quite gracious and very accommodating.
    Thanks for asking,
    James C. Shelburne, M.D.

    James SHELBURNE (France)Couple
  • 17 October 2013
    3.7 / 5 Good

    Yves Martin (Switzerland)Couple
  • 1 October 2013
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Spent four nights in Venice. Hotel is basic and clean very much as advertised. Stairs to the fourth floor room were a steep climb but expected from description. We had window views looking two directions, over the small square and back along the street to the basilica. Breakfast was great but not large and room was tight when all customers showed up at the same time. Neighborhood is great, very close to the square with many fun restaurants, not far from the Rialto Bridge and we felt very safe even walking through the square at 5:00AM to our early morning departure. Very good value for Venice.

    ABM (United States)Couple
  • 5 September 2013
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Merci pour ce séjour délicieux !
    On se sentais comme en famille...

    GEORGES HENRI ABTOUR (France)Couple
  • 30 August 2013
    4.3 / 5 Good

    A deux pas de la place San Marco. Idéal pour un week-end et prix raisonnable pour la situation géographique et la période. Un accueil très sympathique de toute l'équipe, à vos petits soins. Et une agréable surprise car la chambre était plus jolie que sur les photos du site!!! Pour revenir à Venise, ce sera mon hôtel sans hésitation.

    Aurore (France)Couple
  • 7 August 2013
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Canada)Couple with children
  • 6 July 2013
    4.5 / 5 Excellent

    WERE VERY PLEASED WITH SERVICE AS ARRIVED AT 2.00am, AS PLANE WAS DELAYED. FOUND THE ROOM LARGE AND COMFORTABLE AND THOUGHT THE STAR RATING SHOULD BE HIGHER.

    Anonymous (New Zealand)Couple
  • 31 May 2013
    3.7 / 5 Good

    Location was terrific, just off St Markos, room looked great but bathroom was badly designed, steep stairs and surly staff. Location was probably worth putting up with having a shower with a tap up your bracket, all hotels in Vemice are expensive and getting there with luggage is an adventure on it's own. We stll enjoyed our stay, it is definitely worth the effort required.

    Dick A (Australia)Couple
  • 17 May 2013
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Switzerland)Couple
  • 6 May 2013
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Idéalement placé à 50 m de la place Saint Marc,prés de tous les sites principaux à découvrir à pieds et embarcadère pour les îles proches.Petit déjeuner très copieux et à volonté.

    Jean-Luc BACOGNE (France)Couple
  • 4 April 2013
    4 / 5 Good

    Ayman Almusallam (Austria)Group
  • 22 March 2013
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Wifi 5 € de heure trop cher en 2013

    Jean-Pierre GABORIEAU (France)Couple
  • 13 July 2012
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    Nazareno Insarralde (Argentina)Couple
  • 1 July 2012
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 6 June 2012
    4.9 / 5 Excellent

    I did not book it myself so I can not answer the last section.Staff were generous with information and the Hotel is perfectly located

    Arthur Mc Guire (Ireland)Couple
  • 9 April 2012
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Andrey Matis (Russia)Single traveller
  • 31 December 2011
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Australia)Single traveller
  • 9 November 2011
    3.6 / 5 Good

    Water in the toilet was running all the time.

    Anonymous (Norway)Group
  • 6 November 2011
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Personnel trés gentil et attentionné
    on peut laisser ses bagages le dernier jour ce qui est trés pratique et avoir accès aux toilettes ce qui est trés pratique.

    Denis REYNALDO (France)Couple
  • 21 September 2011
    4.4 / 5 Good

    Barry O'Reilly (United States)Couple
  • 20 September 2011
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Sehr nettes, kleines Hotel. Zimmer sind winzig, aber für drei Nächte durchaus angenehm. Für längere Hotelaufenthalte wären mir die Zimmer zu klein.

    Rosemarie Pagani-Trautner (Austria)Group
  • 25 July 2011
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 25 July 2011
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Love the hotel and the location. The staff were professional and friendly! Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

    Lisa Di Carlo (Canada)Couple with children
  • 21 July 2011
    3.5 / 5 Good

    Silvia selmo (Australia)Couple
  • 13 July 2011
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Our hotel room faced the Campo Zulien, a very busy 'intersection' on the pedestrian route from San Marco to The Rialto. There is, therefore, a high level of people noise well into the early hours. We did not mind this but others might. The hotel does not have an elevator and, as our room was on the top floor, this was quite a hike, particularly with luggage. This could be a real problem for quite a few people. We just accepted these things as features of a very old and small city centre hotel, and once we were accustomed to them, did not upset our stay in any way.

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 20 March 2011
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Ich kann das Orion sehr empfehlen. Exzellente Lage mitten im Zentrum zu moderaten Preisen. Schöne Zimmer, Frühstück guter Standard. Freundliches Personal. Sehr gutes Zwei-Sternehotel.
    Die Sitzduschen sind etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig. Soll aber keine Kritik sein.

    Anonymous (Germany)Couple
  • 13 January 2011
    4 / 5 Good

    Garcia olivier (France)Couple
  • 10 January 2011
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Un grand merci pour votre gentilesse et amabilité.

    Catherine Senn (Switzerland)Couple
  • 27 December 2010
    4.5 / 5 Excellent

    Hôtel familial au personnel très agréable. Chambre confortable et propre. Petit-déjeuner très complet avec un cappuccino sublime ! A 1 minute à pied de la place St Marc, parfait pour un court séjour. Nous n'hésiterons pas à y retourner...

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 25 November 2010
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 23 November 2010
    3.5 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Switzerland)Couple
  • 2 November 2010
    4 / 5 Good

    MamaB (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 2 November 2010
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 27 October 2010
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Have to say we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel...VERY close to San Marcos Square. Very nice room and bathroom...bigger than expected for a European hotel room. No elevators, but we knew that when we booked...but the staff was very helpful!!!

    Anonymous (United States)Couple
  • 18 October 2010
    5 / 5 Excellent

    The beds were comfortable and the breakfasts were great. The hotel was close to Maestre and a subway stop which made this hotel very convenient. I would stay there again.

    Mary Blumberg (United States)Couple with children
  • 10 October 2010
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Hotel is on a noisy street. Bring earplugs. Hard to get sleep before midnight.

    Philip DiBlasi (United States)Couple
  • 28 September 2010
    4.1 / 5 Good

    The people behind the desk were very, very courteous, gracious and helpful.

    Beckett Robert (United States)Couple
  • 7 September 2010
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Muy buena opción para vivir el centro de venecia, además las habitaciones y el desayuno son muy buenos; y el trato es excelente.
    No tiene elevador pero no es ningún inconveniente para quedarse en el.
    yo lo recomiendo ampliamente!!!

    ALBERTO CRUZ (Mexico)Single traveller
  • 29 August 2010
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Nous avons apprécié que l'hôtel soit près de la place St MARCO et du centre ville.

    Antoine POMARES (France)Couple
  • 11 August 2010
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Stefan Opeltz (Germany)Couple
  • 9 August 2010
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (Belgium)Couple
  • 22 July 2010
    2 / 5 Average

    The only thing that's important for the hotel staff is to get their money as quick as possible. The location is good, the breakfast o.k. but there is no service at all in this hotel.

    Anonymous (Netherlands)Couple with children
  • 7 July 2010
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    The hotel was very comnfortable and clean, staff there were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much for them to do. I have to say as a first trip to Venice this hotel was a great place to stay, it's location is perfect as it's right next to San Marco Square. The major tourist attractions do tend to be on this island in Venice so we found this hotel was just what we needed.
    Breakfast was lovely with fresch bread, meats, cheeses and also other continental options. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Venice, I know i will stay there again on my next trip.

    Michael Flower (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 29 June 2010
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Hotel tres propre, tres calme et tres bien situé.

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 31 May 2010
    4.4 / 5 Good

    BRIGITTE BALZARIN (France)Single traveller
  • 30 May 2010
    3.9 / 5 Good

    MICHEL HARDOUIN (France)Couple
  • 17 May 2010
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Lisa Weatherall (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 14 May 2010
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Para nosotros suficiente y bueno, debo agradecer en mi caso que me facilitaron desayuno libre de gluten ya que soy enfermo celiaco (sin costo extra). Como comentario negativo el no tener ascensor es una limitante en especial si se portan muchas maletas, el cuarto de baño es muy pequeño y puede ser un problema para gente grande y pesada. En nuestro caso estamos contentos y volveríamos.

    Luis Enrique Villalobos (Costa Rica)Couple
  • 23 April 2010
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    The hotel is in a great location but a little difficult to find if you have never been to Venice as the streets do not always have visible names. The hotel is very close to St. Marks and the Rialto area, so very convenient. The staff was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

    Jeanette (United States)Group
  • 13 April 2010
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 11 April 2010
    3.7 / 5 Good

    David Jacques (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 2 April 2010
    2.3 / 5 Average

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 28 March 2010
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Hotel tres bien situé entre la place St-Marc et le Rialto. Personnel tres aimable et parlant le français et l'anglais pour aider les clients. Chambre propre et confortable.

    Jean-Louis RAYEE (Belgium)Couple
  • 17 March 2010
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Werner Gabor (Hungary)Couple
  • 8 March 2010
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Great quality/price. Great location in St Mark's aeria,just dont walk too fast when you look for it you will miss it!Run very professionally.The rooms are better than expected for the price.

    REINHARD FRANCK (United States)Couple
  • 1 March 2010
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Marie-Laure Bourven (France)Couple
  • 4 January 2010
    3.8 / 5 Good

    PAUL SEBOUHIAN (France)Couple with children
  • 26 October 2009
    2.3 / 5 Average

    Anonymous (United States)Couple
  • 13 October 2009
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Amazing place with lovely staff. Will happily stay here again and would recommend to others.

    Scott Andrews (Australia)Couple
  • 28 September 2009
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Elizabeth Madsen (Australia)Couple
  • 23 September 2009
    4.4 / 5 Good

    I will be returning to Venice (hopefully soon) and I will definitely stay at the Hotel Orion again.

    Andrew Zammit (Australia)Couple
  • 24 August 2009
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Everything about this hote was GREAT - but the breakfast was terrible - just one crossiant with a coffee! And the guys serving breakfast was VERY unassisting, just bcause we spoke english. However with that said, i would recomment this hotel hands down, as the other staff are excellent, and the room as really great! If they just up the breakfast, fire the breakfast guy and get in there a multilingual person, i would give it 4.5 STARS.

    Anonymous (South Africa)Couple
  • 19 August 2009
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Horst Schauerte (Austria)Couple
  • 8 August 2009
    4.5 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (Germany)Couple with children
  • 15 July 2009
    2.9 / 5 Above average

    We liked the hotel but it was noisey outside at night

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 22 June 2009
    2.2 / 5 Average

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple
  • 21 June 2009
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Benjamin DEHAY (France)Couple
  • 5 May 2009
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    We've stayed at the Orion before and would thoroughly recommend it for quality accommodation, excellent value and location. The quality of the service was very good, however the assistance and professionalism of the staff at the front desk was exceptional.

    Richard Cameron (Australia)Couple
  • 1 April 2009
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 27 March 2009
    4 / 5 Good

    M Y Hooi (Malaysia)Couple
  • 18 March 2009
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Emmanuel Bourcet (France)Couple
  • 19 February 2009
    2.8 / 5 Above average

    Everything was good (considering, although very expensive!) until our last night. The room was attendet to daily while we visited Venice, and the towels changed every day (big plus). The breakfest although simple (breads, spreads, mermelade, hot drink, juice and only ONE type of cereal) was enough to satisfy. The big mistake was to leave in the open an IPOD, yes, a simple ipod out in the open room, just charging. By the last morning we had discovered that the ipod was nowhere no be found, and that when asked to the staff, this answer came: "and did´nt you use the safe?". Well, we didnt think an IPOD needed to be in a safe anyway. They guarenteed that the maid in charge of the room did not do it. Still, we have no clue of how this happend. All in all, great hotel, although prize, exellent location, REALLY good, just NEVER leave anything like that in the room. (there were never problems with jewlery left in the room, or cellphones, only this device).

    Nuñez Mariana (Germany)Couple
  • 4 February 2009
    4.1 / 5 Good

    The bathroom had a strange smell - but overall the room was very clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel is in an excellent location right off San Marco Square and a few minutes walk from Rialto. If I were to return to Venice, I would stay at this hotel again, and I would recommend it to anyone going to Venice.

    Anonymous (Ireland)Couple
  • 20 January 2009
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Victor Medeiros (Brazil)Couple
  • 14 January 2009
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Alexey Girshovich (France)Couple
  • 23 December 2008
    2.1 / 5 Average

    One concierge was very rude, everyone else was very helpful. Its amazing how one person's attitude can spoil a stay.

    Anonymous (Australia)Couple with children
  • 16 December 2008
    5 / 5 Excellent

    We have stayed at this hotel many times. The rooms are always clean and well appointed. If you are not pleased with the location of your room, the staff will move you if possible. The staff are friendly and helpful. What more can anyone want? Come on down - the price is right.

    Esther & Trevor Willis (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 10 December 2008
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    We had a lovely stay at the Hotel Orion. We would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Thank you to the lovely hotel reception staff member for great service. He looked after us so well.

    Afflick Family (Australia)Couple
  • 2 December 2008
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Reasonable in price, but clean and comfortable hotel, very well located (just a few steps away from San Marco).

    Martine Remacle (Belgium)Couple
  • 26 October 2008
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Hotel Orion was wonderful! We were two friends travelling together, and Venice was our first stop. The staff were very welcoming to us when we first arrived, and were generally fantastic the entire time we were guests there - very helpful booking tours, giving directions, helping with our very bad italian!. Location was perfect - and with directions I got from the website really easy to find (walk straight under the clock tower, first right, first left at the toy store, walk about 50m and the hotel's on the left - look for the lantern). We would highly recommend Hotel Orion to anyone else staying in Venice.

    Janice (Australia)Group
  • 16 October 2008
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Excellent location, attention and breakfast. Very recommendable.

    Tania Fernandez (Mexico)Group
  • 2 October 2008
    4.5 / 5 Excellent

    Very nice hotel with nice employees and good location.

    Anonymous (Brazil)Couple
  • 31 August 2008
    2.4 / 5 Average

    Too expensive for a tinny room and awkward bathroom, but i guess it's Venice's prices.
    It's really close to the Piazza San Marco but not so close to the Vaporettos, especially if you are carrying a lot of luggage.
    Has no elevator.
    The shower leaves the bathroom all wet.
    Excellent breakfast.
    I had a poor service when i had a problem with the air conditioning on my arrival. On the other hand, i had a great service with other employee when i asked for informations. Didn't look the same hotel.

    Anonymous (Brazil)Couple
  • 8 August 2008
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Marseilles, France (France)Group
  • 31 July 2008
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    For a two star hotel, this more than exceeded my expectations. I would definately go back there again and recommend it.

    Peter Barnard (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 31 July 2008
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    Excellent location, clean and friendly

    Don cormier (Canada)Couple with children
  • 13 May 2008
    3.7 / 5 Good

    This small hotel is tucked away in the bustling alleys off Saint Mark's square. A better location to experience Venice is hard to find. The room is comfortable and clean but somewhat noisy. The breakfest, certainly for Italy, is good. Great coffee and a friendly service. For the price of the room you would expect the internet to be free of charge.

    Mark (Netherlands)Couple
  • 29 March 2008
    4.2 / 5 Good

    This is a great hotel to use as a base and do plenty of exploring. The location is excellent as its proximity to ferry as well as local attractions is probably second to none. Anyone wanting to use their rooms extensively through the day will be disappointed as it is small but with so much to see and experience why would you want to?

    David Smith (Austria)Couple
  • 26 March 2008
    4.2 / 5 Good

    We enjoyed our stay very much. We travelled with our 2 children, and the room was of ample size to accommodate both us and the luggage. The only thing I would have liked to have seen was a kettle and coffee and tea making facilities as one of our children was ill for part of the stay, and would have made being in the room easier.

    Anonymous (Australia)Couple with children
  • 24 March 2008
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Wonderful location! 20 steps from San Marco, easy to find. Very romantic, we really felt cosy. Tasty morning coffee :) Thank you!

    Yulia (Russia)Couple with children
  • 28 January 2008
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

    Anne Frost (Ireland)Couple
  • 12 December 2007
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Everything was excellent.thank you very much.

    Anonymous (Belgium)Couple
  • 4 December 2007
    3.9 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Switzerland)Couple
  • 6 November 2007
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (Italy)Couple

Give us your Feedback